CONDITIONAL SENTENCES TYPE 1, 2 and 3 *Bahasa Inggris Bisnis 2 #

Nama             : Rekno Asriani

Kelas              : 4EA15

NPM               : 11209137

Tugas             : Softskill Bahasa Inggris Bisnis 2

 

CONDITIONAL SENTENCES TYPE  1, 2 and 3 *Bahasa Inggris Bisnis 2 #

Theory of the conditional sentence

FIRST CONDITIONAL: “UNREAL, BUT LIKELY”

This conditional deals with “unreal, but likely” situations in the present or future. We call it “unreal” because situation we are describing hasn’t happened yet, and “likely” because we can easily imagine it happening. We use the first conditional to describe these situations.

For example, a 3 year old child is reaching toward the fire. She hasn’t put her fingers into the fire yet, but we know that small children don’t understand fire, so we can easily imagine her touching it.

 

SECOND CONDITIONAL: “UNREAL AND UNLIKELY

This conditional deals with situations in the present and future that are both unreal and unlikely. The situation we are describing hasn’t happened yet, and we really can’t imagine it happening very easily, except in a freak accident or a moment of great stupidity.

 

THIRD CONDITIONAL: “UNREAL CONDITION”

This conditional deals with situations in the *past* that are unreal—they didn’t happen. We can still imagine what the consequences would have been.

 

* FORMULA CONDITIONAL SENTENCES TYPE 1, 2 and 3

 

MEANING OF THE

 “IF CLAUSE”

VERB FORM IN THE

 “IF CLAUSE”

VERB FORM IN THE “RESULT CLAUSE”

 

 

(a)   If I have enough time, I write to my parents every week.

(b)   If I have enough time tomorrow, I will write to my parents

True in the present/future

Simple present

Simple present

Simple future

Untrue in the present/future

Simple past

Would + simple form

(c)   If I had enough time now, I would write to my parents. (In truth, I do not have enough time, so I will not write to them)
Untrue in the past

Past perfect

Would have + past participle

(d)   If I had had enough time, I would have written to my parents yesterday. (In truth, I did not have enough time, so I did not write to them.)

 

 

Conditional Sentence Type 1

Example:

  1. If I have enough apples, I will bake an apple pie this afternoon.
  2. I will fix your bicycle if I have a screwdriver of the proper size.
  3. I will make a tomato salad for the picnic tomorrow if the tomatoes in my garden are ripe.
  4. If she comes, I will give her the message.
  5. If you study hard, you will pass the final exam.
  6. If she wins the competition, they will give her a gold medal.
  7. He will not go to the picnic, if it rains.

 

Conditional Sentence Type 2

Example:

 

  1. I wouldn’t be a student in this class if English were my native language
  2. I would fix your bicycle if I had a screwdriver of the proper
  3. Sally would answer the phone if she was in her office right now
  4. Jack will shave today if he had a sharp razor.
  5. If i had enough money, I would go with you.

 

 

 

Conditional Sentence Type 3

Example:

 

 

  1. If he had studied hard, he would have passed the final exam.
  2. If I had had enough money, I would have gone with you.
  3. If the weather is nice tomorrow, we would have gone to the zoo
  4. If I had found her address, I would have sent her an invitation.
  5. If the team had played well, it would have won the competition.
  6. If Alter Bridge had been here, I would have been very happy.

 

 

 

Sumber:               http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/conditionals-verb-tense-in-if-clauses/

Betty Schrampfer Azar. “Understanding Ad Using English  Grammar”. Penerbit Prentice Hall Regents, United Stated of America,    1989

http://www.ego4u.com/en/cram-up/grammar/conditional-sentences

Leave a Reply

